It Starts With A Thought

According to Wikipedia, thought or thinking is:

mental forms and processes, respectively (“thought” is both). Thinking allows beings to model the world and to represent it according to their objectives, plans, ends and desires.

Now that we know the meaning of thought, I have a question? Can we change our way of thinking? I am curious to know if a man or a woman who has spent their entire life following their own thoughts could one day just throw them in the trash and collect new thoughts to follow and live by. I for one don’t believe that a person can just disregard all that they know and acquire new thoughts to live by. Our thoughts are imbedded in our minds like fingernails are imbedded in our fingers. You don’t pull out your fingernails because you don’t like them anymore; you trim them when they grow wild so the same applies to thoughts. We have to trim or modify our thoughts.

Our way of thinking is what we live by but our world is always changing around us and because we don’t shift our thoughts to reflect the changes, we are left with the feeling that we are out of place and no longer belong. I had such an experience that left me miserable for years and in the process everything in my life crumbed because my thoughts led me to desire the way things were and you can’t go back. Emotionally, I was fighting my environment and because my thoughts had me always looking west or behind me I watched life in front of me pass by and I was not a part of it. Truthfully speaking, I didn’t want to be a part of it. I wanted to be on the west coast so badly, I tried to make going back home a temporary arrangement. Five years later, I’m still here. Go figure.

I understand that our thoughts will either lead us to happiness or misery. My thoughts led me to misery because I didn’t want to be a part of this new world that I was living in. Therefore, the person or persons responsible for my fate is ME. No one told me to go home; my thoughts led me to that decision. No one told me to pretend that this was temporary; my thoughts led me to believe that I was going back to the west coast. It was my own thoughts that led me to where I am now.

Now, that I am prepared to change the way I think, how do I go about that? I suppose one day at a time. A little bit of prayer, help from friends and family could go a long way to make me a better man. Recently, a friend of mines suggested that I read a book called As A Man Thinketh by James Allen. I had never heard of James Allen nor had I heard of this book but I am always willing to check out something new so I googled the book and I found this website: http://www.asamanthinketh.net and I downloaded the ebook to read. I would like to share a  quote from the book.

“A man cannot directly choose his circumstances, but he can choose his thoughts, and so indirectly, yet surely, shape his circumstances.”

After reading this, it made me think of  Senator Harry Reid of Nevada. A book just released disclosed some remarks that Reid said in reference to then-candidate Barack Obama that he was: “a ‘light-skinned’ African American ‘with no Negro dialect, unless he wanted to have one.” Reid did not chose to be on the hot seat which is his circumstance but he did chose his thought which led him to say the following so it indirectly shape his circumstance.

We are the master of our thoughts and our thoughts need to be fine-tuned like our cars. Hopefully, it is not too late for us to trim away the growth from our thoughts.

If you have any ideas that you would like me to blog about or if you have any questions, my email address is r8rbob@gmail.com

~ by R8RBOB on January 11, 2010.

One Response to “It Starts With A Thought”

  1. “The Universe does not know if the vibration you are offering is because of what you are imagining, or because of what you are observing. In either case, it is responding. Emotion is your guidance or your response to your vibration. Your emotion does not create. Emotion is your indicator of what you are already creating. As you think, you vibrate. And it is your vibrational offering that equals your point of attraction. So, what you are thinking and what is coming back to you is always a vibrational match. The emotion (your Guidance System) is telling you what’s coming.” The important thing to remember is that we do have the ability to re-program our thoughts and words to reflect that which we desire. It takes a lot of work daily to restate a negative statement to turn it into emotional vibrations that reach the Universe as a whole. Bobby, you are definately on the right track and God/Goddess Bless YOUR Blog. Thank you for sharing. Well received and more welcomed. LadySage

Leave a Reply

 
