Good Morning, It’s Groundhog Day….Again

I relive the same day over and over again. Okay, that sounds crazy but stay with me for a second and you will understand what I mean. I wake up at 7AM, make a pot of coffee, turn on my TV, go to my computer, get the lottery numbers from last night, read the news, etc…. As the day progresses, I will watch the soaps, play video games, apply for jobs, go to the store, watch more TV and then go to bed to repeat the process the next day. Did you stay with me? Crazy huh, but that’s my life. Somehow, I have seen this movie before. Any guesses what movie I am referring to?

Ah yes, Groundhog Day with Bill Murray. One of the best movies I have ever watched. It tells the story of an unhappy weatherman named Phil who travels to Punxsutawney, PA to cover Punxsutawney Phil on Groundhog Day. What happens next: he get caught in a time-loop in which he repeats February 2nd everyday and during the loop he grows miserable because life as he knows it just repeats over and over. He commits suicide numerous times only to wake up on 2/2 and repeats the day over again. Finally, he realizes that he has to change himself to be a better person and get the girl which results in the time-loop being broken. Moral of the story: Change yourself to change the times. Well I am Phil on Feb. 1st. Like Phil, I am unhappy and miserable and as a result, I am doomed to repeat the same day over and over only it not a time-loop but real-time.

The goal for me is to be like Phil on Feb. 2nd. In the movie Phil realized that he had to change. By improving himself on Feb. 2nd, he was able to awake on Feb. 3rd to start living his new life. Until recently, I was scared to death as to what to do next. With the way things are going in this country, lack of jobs, lack of hope, lack of faith, and lack of money who wouldn’t be scared? I am in some ways still terrified of living but I was reminded last night that I am not alone in this crisis. I have to keep going and the way to do that is to change myself. We would change our clothes, our shoes, our TV shows, our foods, our significant other, our jobs, our banks; in fact we would change everything about ourselves except we would not change us. I believed I was fine the way I was and yet I keep landing in the same predicament over and over and I thought it was someone else’s fault.

Recently, I reached out to a friend of mines who is successful in his own right and who opinion I respect. It was he who suggested that if I wanted to express myself that I could start a blog and put my opinions out there so I did just that. Let’s call it the beginning of my transformation. My transformation will happen because I can’t allow myself to go back to the way things were. It doesn’t work for me anymore. If you feel as I do or you have gone through issues like myself know that you are not alone. If you feel like giving up, before you do, talk to someone because no one knows that it is a fire unless you yell “fire.” Is it so hard to open up to one’s own shortcomings? Yes, it is. Hopefully by me opening up, you can do the same. Let us all be like Phil on February 3rd and enjoy living even in the worst of times.

Thanks, L.B.

If you have any ideas that you would like me to blog about or if you have any questions, my email address is r8rbob@gmail.com

~ by R8RBOB on January 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
