Today Is A Great….Whoa!!! What Just Happened

I remember 9/11 like it was yesterday. There are just some days you don’t forget. I was getting ready for work that morning and I had just got out of the shower when I saw the news report about the plane crashing into the North Tower. My attention shifted to the TV though I was getting dress and drinking my coffee. My attitude that morning was that “today is going to be a great day.” There was going to be a picnic later at work and I can’t turn down free food so I was looking forward to that. Just after 6AM (9AM on the east coast) the second plane hit the South Tower and I am looking at the TV saying “what the fuck!” Did I just see a plane crash into a building? Watching people die live was something I wasn’t exposed to but now I’m a witness and now my attention is no longer focus on getting to work. It is watching the aftermath. September 11th is now history and a reminder that the unexpected and the unknown can happen at any time. No, I was not at Ground Zero but to have lives lost, families forever changed, it will touch you and remind you how fragile our lives are.

Yesterday, the unexpected occurred when an earthquake measuring 7.0 struck the tiny nation of Haiti. Being the poorest nation in the Western Hemisphere, Haiti will not have the earthquake-resistant structures that are in states such as California and Alaska and as a result buildings in the capital have collapsed and thousands are feared dead or dying. January 12th to them might have started off being a great day but it turned into a nightmare. Just like 9/11, I was not a witness to the devastation. I am watching it on television just as I watched the events of 9/11 eight years ago but it hits home knowing that it could be your city that could have suffered. I can not imagine how I would react knowing my world was upside-down. It has to be terrifying not knowing what will happen next.

IMO, the greatest mystery of man is the unknown. We never know what is going to happen next and in many ways, it is scary as hell. Some people live their lives in fear because they don’t know what could happen next. Out of fear, some people will not get on an airplane because they think it is going to crash. Out of fear, some people won’t drive their cars at night. Some people won’t live in California because they are afraid that California is going to sink while they are there. Earthquakes are an unknown force of nature. There is no way to predict when or where an earthquake will hit but we can’t stop living because of our inability to understand the unknown. The world must remind Haiti that it has not suffered its end. It is bleak and there will those ready to surrender out of fear but like other nations that has had its disasters, Haiti should come back from this.

Today I’m reminded me once again that there are those who have it worse than you. I will eat dinner tonight. I will watch TV, I will work on my blog, I will play some games on my computer, I will sleep in a bed. I will be able to do those things because I made it through another day. My counterpart in Haiti who probably did the same things is likely unable to do those things because either he or she is homeless or they are dead and that is why you are left with the feeling of pain and loss. To the Haitian people, I pray that through the hand of God, the world will reach out and give the needed help to get Haiti back on her feet.

If you have any ideas that you would like me to blog about or if you have any questions, my email address is r8rbob@gmail.com

~ by R8RBOB on January 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
