Do We Make Due Or Make Do

image

For the record, the phrase is “make do”

I had already typed out a column called “Can A Man Cry And Still Be A Man” and it was ready for Thursday but after a talk with my cousin and seeing this video, I just had to post this as a bonus. In the video, Greta Van Susteren and a video crew are in Haiti as part of a group which features Sarah Palin.  At 5:07 of the video, Greta is reporting on how the Haitians are washing their clothes in the water. Now if anyone have been following the news, Haiti has a cholera outbreak so drinking the same water that they bathe in and washing their clothes in would be suicide right? Greta is reporting what she sees and you could infer that she has never been exposed to anything like this. I’m sure that if they had the facilities to separate drinking water from general purpose water I am sure they would take it but in the meantime they simply have to “make do.”

Now, I know we all have our hardships stories to share but let me share mines. I grew up in a home with two working parents and we didn’t have a lot but we had a roof over our heads.  That roof cost a lot of money and on occasion my parents were not able to keep up so we experienced some hard times. We lost our heat in the dead of winter, we lost the family car, and we had to reduce the amount spent on food because my father was not in the home and I could keep going but we had to “make do.” We “made do” with limited resources and we didn’t have someone on a white horse to come save us though that would have been great for us kids but my mother was enough. She sacrificed so much so we could keep a roof over our head.  We, minus my father at times had to make do and it made us stronger because we did what we had to short of committing any crime to survive.

Watching Greta’s video reminded me how far America has come. We have advanced to the point that Americans typically would not need to “make do.” If are you educated and working a fairly good job or own your own business and able to help others, then there would be no need to “make do.”  We use washing machines to wash our clothes yet I watched those girls washing their clothes by hand. When was the last time you “had” to wash your clothes by hand? We can go to any store and buy a bottle of water to drink. We know those Haitians have no access to bottled water. Resources are thin. Our babies wear diapers because we don’t them messing up the furniture yet the Haitians barely have enough cloth to clothe themselves much less than a baby. We have so much in the United States but we forget the millions of people in America and around the world who still live by whatever means. What do they do? They “make do.”

When I was talking to my cousin over the weekend, we talked about Obama and the tax deal he made with the Republicans and I told my cousin that if Obama had grew up within a Black family he would not rolled over so quickly with the GOP. Now, let me explain that statement. I can’t talk on how families of other races would handle themselves in the worst of times but I can talk on what a Black family is capable of doing in the worst of times. (think of the Evans family) That said, if Obama was in a Black family, growing up in the 60’s and 70’s catching Hell, he would have approached that deal with a different mindset based on his worldview. Someone might think that I am saying that Obama could not experience any grief being raised by his grandparents, both who were White. I would not say that but I am not going be naive and say that White pain and Black pain are the same because they are not. Again, this is not saying that Mexicans or Asians or Whites have not had it bad but the current president identify himself as being Black, so Black it is.

Americans have had to so good for so long that we never gauge what would happen if it ended tomorrow. What if we suffered the same fate as Haiti? Could Americans “make do” like the Haitians are required to do to survive? Are we willing to sacrifice for our fellow man? To “make do” requires sacrifice. Years ago, my mother like many other mothers in the United States had to closet their dreams for the greater good. That lesson of life made my sister and I better people as a result so when I see people doing whatever to survive, I will simply say that they are “making do.”

~ by R8RBOB on December 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
